Long Bus Rides Brew Deep Thoughts… 🚎

First I’ve to admit that I have a pretty serious love-hate relationship with my job as a surveyor. The enticing “flexi-work-hours” thingy that the employment agency sugarcoated my currently job wasn’t as flexi as I thought it would be, in office it was 8 to 5 but after I started working from home, it became 9 to 1130pm??? And worst of all I signed (or rather I’m ignorant that I signed) for 3 to 4.5 hours of nonstop walking 🚶🚶🚶🚶 because transport cost is already ‘included’ in my meagre salary.

But more importantly this job is pretty satisfying, in a way, because it (truthfully) paints a realistic portrait of not just the humble, caring 😇 side of Singaporeans but also the ugly 👺 (and even menace) of our once thought-to-be bed of roses orchids. I interview many different types of Singaporeans, of different races, varied/contrasting backgrounds, spanning across the entire social hierarchy / corporate ladder. Some who are desperate to find any job, some who are exasperated and quit searching for job, some who are just too lazy and expect the government to spoon feed them / pamper them with unemployment benefits. There are others who do well in the corporate arena and are very open to flaunt their achievements; while some of these highflyers are so stuck up and arrogant. And of course there are those wannabes who preach as though they are highflyers, but honestly, all they need is a simple reality check. So every individual that I visit is a new encounter despite being guided by the identical questionnaire. The anticipation every time I’m waiting at the doorstep of a unit is sometimes so overwhelming, especially if I let my imagination run wild 👿 But thankfully, more than often, someone approachable will answer the door 😌

Sometimes phone calling experience exaggerates the callousness of Singaporeans, but hey, when I go for face-face talks, it’s like ten times better Haha I’m not expecting any kind of hospitality but their tone tells it all.

And after working and interacting with grown-ups, besides realising that I need a job with some form of human interaction, I feel very much more independent. No longer shackled to the will of my parents (but not like I’ll become more rebellious 😒). Anyway, I still am deciding when & where to treat my family 👪, since I got my first pay (which isn’t a lot #justsaying so don’t rob me 💸), thinking of going some secluded place with few people but with delicious, affordable food for dinner! I was thinking going for some Thai food @ Thai Tantric or Joe’s Kitchen that’s near Queenstown 👑!

Gonna update here👇if I ever go there:

Thai Tantric: Orchard Towers, 400 Orchard Road #03-23 S238875 (Operating hours: Mon to Sun from 11am to 3pm and 6pm to 3am(wuttt??? but okay))
Review: (pending)

OMG OMG 😱 latest update, there’s this Thai restaurant at Hougang that looks even better! 😋 okay I’m gonna note down the venue 👇:

Nakhon Kitchen
136 Bedok North Avenue 3 #01-166
Singapore 460136
Tel: +65 6245 5548
Daily: 12pm – 3pm, 5.30pm – 10pm

212 Hougang Street 21 #01-341
Singapore 530212
Tel: +65 6286 8785
Daily: 12pm – 3pm, 5.30pm – 10pm

Review: [credits to Quah & her gang for insta-ing multiple pictures of their delicious dinner? HAHA]

(pending)

[UPDATE 25/01]: refer to the blog post dated 25/01 for the review and tantalizing images of genuine Thai cuisine.

Anyway beside the family treat that I’m planning, I’m also very keen to get a ukulele of my own 🎸 (idc, that decitfully looks like a uke since ukes come in all shape and sizes) Ever since my bro brought back a soprano uke (because of some school IDP) I’ve been the one benefiting hehe😅 playing it all day at home when I’m tired of work. Trying to learn the entire Riptide by Vance Joy 😍 He’s such a joy to listen to!

Currently (like a few hours ago lol) enjoying the rather long journey on 🚍198 from West Coast Highway to Queenstown haha solitary moments on cosy buses are so satisfying after a long day’s of walking 😌😌

(Note to self, I could actually go to Nakhon Kitchen then go get the ukulele which is at Simei)

Leave a comment