Malaysia Boleh — Good Food 😋 Easy on your palate & pocket!

Today was a fairytale~ Ahaha okay minus the working part of today, yup, it was almost like a splendid day just for relaxation. Went for a morning run at Queenstown stadium on this bright and cheery Saturday morning before heading to Mei Ling Market for brunch (I should attempt a food review for breakfast/brunch @ Mei Ling someday!). 2015/01/img_3035.jpg After brunch I started work and it was boringgg ‘cos more than often nobody’s at the other end of the line, so throughout the 4-5hrs of calling, my ears are usually greeted with melodic serenades of the engaged ringtone (the duuuuuuuu-duuu-duuuuu ones & more). After making like about 45+ calls, my family & I headed to Malaysia for some grocery shopping and a nice dinner!2015/01/img_3044-0.jpg

Venue: Restaurant Chua Kee (or more commonly known as 蔡记海鲜)

Location: 1, Jalan Kacang Panjang, Gelang Patah 81100 (Johor, Malaysia) [it’s quite secluded though..]

Opening Hours: This I’m not too sure, but it’s open during lunch time & for dinner!)

So we’ve been coming here quite frequently, regardless if it’s for nice seafood Birthday dinners or just to statisfy our I-feel-like-eating-delicious-food craving haha. Here are some (not all) of the dishes we ordered! We went as a family of five #justsaying so the price may vary according to your pax! Dish 1: 东坡肉 Price: RM15 (~S$5.69) Honestly, I didn’t support the decision to order this dish as I didn’t like how fatty 东坡肉 was in China the previous time I ate this. But after I had a taste of the meat, I kinda felt a lil thankful that we still ordered nonetheless BECAUSE the meat was just so tender with a ‘lil fatty portion that goes with the meat (IDK HOW TO PUT IT ACROSS). This dish comes with 梅菜 (just like the famous ones in China) and shredded carrots with pieces of leek, what I liked. 2015/01/img_3055.jpg Dish 2: 苏东仔 (deep-fried baby squid) Price: RM12 (~S$4.55) This tasted like the usual fried baby squid in any restaurant, just that they fried it with bits of pineapples! Nonetheless very appetizing and cheap!  2015/01/img_3053.jpg Dish 3: 四大天王 (idk why the name, but it’s basically Okra + long beans + Eggplant + stink beans / petai) Price: RM15 (~S$5.69) This is one of my family’s all time favourite dish because hey where can you find another replica of this dish! Anyway, besides its rarity (sounds like I’m talking Pokémon) and authenticity, this dish has my favourite LADY’S FINGERS!! But altogether the combination of the 4 types of vegetables (to be scientifically correct, 3 fruits + 1 seed lol) is sooo delicious! FYI This dish is fried with ikan bilis (heads up for the ikan bilis lovers out there)2015/01/img_3054.jpg Dish 4: _ _ 豆腐 (something-something-toufu ‘cos I can’t read the waitress’ handwriting) Show them this beautiful pic and they’ll recognise immediately (I guess) Price: RM15 (~S$5.69) This is a good dish especially after you’ve ordered all the fried / deep-fried dishes, because the gravy’s starchy / watery texture keeps ur palate moist(?) I guess AHAHA omg I fail at doing food reviews ‘cos I feel it in my brain but can’t express it in words #reasonswhyIhavepictures BUT TOUFU LOVERS you’ve gotta try this handmade fried toufu with the unique gravy (that I can’t describe).2015/01/img_3052.jpg Dish 5: 凤梨虾球 Price: RM40 (~S$15.20) OMG this dish was a hawt favourite, I only got to eat 2 pieces of prawns meh + finish up all the pineapples and veggies. This dish is something like the sweet & sour (OMG I typed sweat&sour at first gosh no) pork that Singaporeans usually order from 煮炒 stalls but now it’s prawns in replace of pork. Their prawns are fresh & are peeled (you have no idea how grateful I am for the restaurants that have already peeled prawns #lazy) + marinated well with the sweat and sour sauce YAY enjoyed my 2 pieces of 虾球 very much LOL2015/01/img_3050.jpg

Oh oh those food bloggers always have that ratings thingamajig right hahaha okay so here’s this wannabe’s rating:

Food: 8.5/10

Service: 7.5/10 (Waiting time was reasonable; waitresses/waiters are nice & quick on their feet, figuratively & literally)

Environment: 6/10 (I NEED to include this environment thingy ‘cos I really hate breathing in second-hand smoke when I enjoy my meals. Restaurant Chua Kee is open air and you really do need to find some strategic location if you’re as sensitive to 2nd-hand smoke as me)

If you’re a avid seafood lover or just someone who wants to exploit the ringgit while SGD is still pretty strong, you’ll have to patronize this restaurant in Gelang Patah!

I think I’ll try to post pics with short(er) descriptions next time ‘cos I’m not that cogent with words!

Leave a comment